Introducing the sound heart

It is not the eyes that are blind, but the hearts.

Translation of the Quran, 22:46

“But eyes are blind. You have to look with the heart.” 

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery 

Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh – May the peace, mercy and blessings of God be with you.

My nickname’s Hobo – your sister in humanity and faith. Thank you for taking the time to check this blog out.

First of all, some if’s.

  • If you’ve ever questioned the purpose of life, its meaning, its point and your role in all of this;
  • if you like simplicity,
  • if you consider yourself at all spiritual or are open to the existence of God,
  • if you occasionally feel a little empty, a little disappointed, and are looking for something . . .  more
  • or if for some reason, you’re just really tolerant of long paragraphs (smile). . .

then this blog is written for you.

As a young, female, Western convert to Islam who up until two years ago thought Muslims were Arab terrorists that worshipped a cube, sometimes it can be difficult for me to get a grip on the many changes my life has seen in the past few years.

I am a believer in belief; in truth and justice and of course, in God. It’s my love of God that spurred me on to start this site – as clichéd as it sounds, I felt a need to try to return to the web all the good I have received from my Creator through it.

I wanted a way to give back, to contribute; I wanted to act as an intermediary in giving something to someone, something that I myself am still striving after: ‘sakeenah‘; the peace that God places in the hearts of His worshippers.

The spiritual condition of one’s heart is of up-most importance in Islam. It’s this state that determines whether one is truly faithful or not. It is this state that will determine our place in the Hereafter.

Yet in my online readings, I noticed something odd about the Islamic blogs I visited. They largely fell into one of two categories: either they were overly scholastic and impersonal, or they were entirely anecdotal with very little actual Islamic content. They were either no-heart, or all-heart.

Insha Allah – God willing – I hope I can strike the right balance.This blog exists to illustrate some of the most simple tenets of the Islamic faith in a way that is easily understandable and immediately accessible, for both Muslims and not-yet-Muslims alike.

I am no scholar and as mentioned above, I have only been practicing Islam for a couple of years now. Hence, my own knowledge of the faith is still growing in leaps and bounds – I literally learn something new every single day.

I pray that, together, we can learn to see Islam in its beautiful simplicity in all aspects of our lives, and I pray this blog helps us on our way.

Thanks again for checking this space out. May God reward your efforts . . . and may He guide us ever closer to His eternal peace.

Any good in this is from God, and all mistakes are my own.

 Sister Hobo ❤

” . . . The day when neither wealth nor sons will profit (anyone), except for one who comes to Allah with a sound heart.” 

Translation of The Quran, 26:88-89

Leave a Reply

